Lemon Meringue Pie Dip

Source: www.somethingswanky.com – All photos and text from the Something Swanky website

I found this pin on pinterest.  It’s such an interesting take on pie filling and pie crust, I just had to share it with you.

I think it’s safe to say we’ve all got our own bedtime routines.
And it’s hard to go to sleep if we don’t do our routines.
Mine’s a little backwards.
Because my routine makes it nearly impossible for me to fall asleep…
I like to look at blogs.
Your blogs.
Your amazing dessert blogs.
What’s the problem with that, you say?
The problem is: it gets my creative juices flowing.
The wheels get turning and they just won’t stop!
They’ll slow down eventually, but even then– I’m just dreaming about desserts.
So thanks a lot guys.
I’m pretty much in a constant state of dessert-blogs-induced sleep deprivation.
Last night, I wandered over to Crazy For Crust.
It’s a favorite haunt of mine.
Dorothy likes to add crust to everything.
This week, she created crust dippers for cake batter dip.
Pie. Crust. Dippers.
The effect was immediate.
I was literally up, tapping my toes in bed, until 1:30am– mentally concocting about a bazillion different dips that all most definitely need Pie Crust Dippers.
Finally, I shuffled to the kitchen.
Heated up the leftover baked ziti.
And got to work making a list a mile long of all the Pie Crust Dips I must make.
My husband thinks I’m nuts.
Regardless, I’m very happy to introduce to you my Pie Dip debut recipe:
Lemon Meringue Pie Dip.
PS- in case the pictures didn’t make it quite clear: this dip is phenomenal.
And I don’t even like Lemon Meringue Pie.
Lemon Meringue Pie Dip
Ingredients:
  • 1-2 store-bought or homemade pie crust (amount depends on how much you dip and how much you eat with a spoon 🙂
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 3 eggs, separated
  • 1/2 c. lemon juice (fresh is best!)
  • 3 tbsp. corn syrup (or sugar)
  • a pinch of cream of tartar
Instructions:
  1. Whisk together 3 egg yolks and lemon juice over medium-low heat*. Stir constantly until think and custard like (5-10, but closer to 5) minutes.
  2. Pour into a ziptop bag, releasing all the air when you zip it, and put the bag into a small ice bath.
  3. Meanwhile, toss the egg whites, corn syrup, and cream of tartar into a stand mixer, and whisk on high until stiff peaks form.
  4. Once the egg yolk mixture has cooled (probably before your meringue is finished– it won’t take long), snip a corner of the bag and pour into a medium bowl. Whisk in the can of sweetened condensed milk.
  5. Pour into your serving bowl if different.
  6. Once the meringue is ready, heap and spread on top of the lemon filling (I like less meringue and would have been happy with half of what’s shown in the picture).
  7. Put the bowl on a cookie sheet and into the oven. Broil for 1-2 minutes until meringue is slightly browned. Refrigerate to cool.
  8. Cut out strips, circles, or other shapes from the prepared pie crust. Bake according to directions on package, but about half the recommended time.
  9. By the time those have baked and cooled, your dip should be cool enough to enjoy!!

*Many similar lemon pie recipes don’t call for this step– supposedly the acid in the lemon juice takes care of “cooking” the egg yolks. I’m not that brave– but if you are, feel free to skip cooking the eggs!

Categories: Pie Crust, Pie Dip, Pie Filling | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

