Blueberry Basil & Goat Cheese Pie

 

Like or Dislike?

By now you might have already noticed that my family and I are intrigued by odd combinations and un-ordinary recipes. :)   Why should this one be any different?

I saw this pie made on one of the featured spots on Diners, Drive Ins and Dives and I wished to high heaven that I could fly all four of us to Indiana to try this in person.  I live to conversate with people who are this creative in the kitchen, since I am not all that creative.  Daring yes, creative not really.  At least I don’t think so.

Allow me to spoil you with a little-known fact about me:  my favorite show on the Food Network is Diners, Drive Ins and Dives.  I know, I know many talented home chefs talk down about the Food Network saying it’s too mainstream and very “fake” but I enjoy it!  I find inspiration from it.  I look at the foods that are used, how they are paired and techniques that are introduced.

Taylor has grown up watching the Food Network instead of the Cartoon Channel.  She used to be absolutely BONKERS for Paula Deen, now she enjoys watching Chopped, Cake Wars (Did I get that name right?  The show where they all have themed cakes to make.) and Michael Simon on Iron Chef.

She doesn’t just sit and mindlessly watch either.  She literally grabs me by the shoulders and with excitement tells me things that she finds super cool.

“Mom!  Did you know that they are making a buttercream with champagne in it??”  (She cannot wait to try some for herself…champagne not buttercream haha!)

“Mom, I can’t believe they just made all that food out of Halloween candy!”  Only in her dreams would I allow candy to be the main ingredient of her entire meal.

“Mom, I want to make my own tier cake with fondant frosting.”  We are working on this one.  She made up her own killer cake recipe…

She recently created a Caramel Apple Pie and melted the caramel using the double boiler method just as she saw on Iron Chef. [sniff, sniff] I’m so proud!

I tried to tell her it wouldn’t work out as she hoped, but I’m glad I let her make the call because she was right.  It made an incredible pie!


Think what you want, this family gains useful knowledge from the Food Network and it sure beats sitcoms! :D

Coming back to the pie, the flavor combo was a pleasant surprise!  The tartness of the blueberries really connected with the goat cheese and the sweetness was a nice contrast.  The basil played the part of harmony in this choir and the icing on the cake so to speak was the sliced almonds!

Taylor thought the goat cheese was a little too prominent, but she’s not usually a fan of it.

We both agreed that the perfect addition to a slice of this pie was fresh whipped cream!  The cool, sweet whipped cream really toned down the tartness of the goat cheese and made this pie really smooth and even more enjoyable!

If you do chose to make this pie, I must give a very enthusiastic suggestion that you try this pie crust recipe shared by Kim of LivLife.  It resembles shortbread and I cannot think of using any other pie crust recipe other than this one.  Not ever.  And FYI I did not use margarine, I used butter through this entire recipe.

A big huge thank you to 3 Sisters Cafe for sharing this pie and the recipe!  The link to the pie recipe can be found by clicking here.
Source:  http://www.foodbuzz.com/blogs/4561828-blueberry-basil-goat-cheese-pie

Categories: Savory Pies | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Blueberry Basil & Goat Cheese Pie

  1. This is really different. Sounds unusual and delicious.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

